乡村供暖

2010年,聚思就实施可替代供暖方案前往蒙古,调研了蒙古乡村的100所学校。我们发现每所学校每个季节所砍伐的木材超过500吨,且由于缺乏建筑规范制度,导致部分学校建筑不绝缘、供暖低效。

寒冷的教室与枯竭的森林

2010年3月,聚思受Local Solutions基金会邀请,赴库苏古尔省目睹了森林砍伐,并就乡村能源选择给出建议。供暖是一项重大议题,影响到所有蒙古人。由于人口增长和经济发展,供暖造成的环境代价日趋严重。蒙古森林被亟需取暖的人大量砍伐,这其中往往深受影响的便是学校。

 

不断上升的供暖费用是蒙古学校最大的开销。为了解决这个问题,保护剩下的森林,蒙古政府颁布了一项新政策:禁止砍伐活树。但是这个政策导致人们大量收集死木,致使运输费用增加。学校面临着这样的困境:他们要么违反法律且加剧森林枯竭,要么每年支付超出预算的供暖开销。学校唯一能克服这项难题的方法就是提高能源效率,并寻找不会危害蒙古森林的替代燃料。

 

为面对这种供暖困境的学校找寻解决方案的同时,聚思也为可采用相似策略的其它贫困地区带去了希望。

建立一个高效利用能源的解决方案

聚思开展了长达十天的研究,深入了解库苏古尔省的学校供暖系统。聚思发布的报告中指出了四个可落实的发展方向-大众教育、专业培训、创业发展以及政府政策。

 

在与建筑行业顾问、政府负责投资兴建学校的有关部门沟通后,我们发现问题的根本是蒙古的建筑规范制度。  一栋建筑若由政府出资,在被批准前必须符合政府建筑规范制度。  因此,该制度的具体落实要求所有建筑符合最低设计标准。只有提高新建工程及维修旧工程的建筑标准,才能有效改善能源使用效率,增加可持续性。在后续工作中,聚思团队参与公共教育活动,为其他建设高效能源建筑的相关人员提出了切实可行的计划,促进了机制改革。

 

我们邀请到高效能源建筑方面的专家,结合我们在蒙古得到的实地经验,共同拟定切实方案来解决供暖问题。

90%

库苏古尔省的供暖来自燃烧木头

100+

所学校用燃烧木头供暖

55000

吨木材被用作供暖燃料库苏古尔省

欲了解聚思如何帮助蒙古转变,请参见以下的乡村供暖报告。

鸣谢

感谢Jonathan Woetzel的支持,Oyungererl Tsedevadamba 地区的领导,Joel Slonetsky 和 Nora Sluzas 的尽心投入和冒险精神,摄影师Van Yang,设计师Hondo Design。

Rural Heating

In 2010, we investigated and implemented alternative heating solutions for 100 rural Mongolian schools that were chopping down over 500 tons of live wood per school, per season. What we found was a lack of building codes that led to uninsulated schools and ineffective heating.

Cold Classrooms vs. Falling Forests

In March 2010, JUCCCE was invited by Local Solutions Foundation to witness the widespread deforestation in Khuvsgul province, and advise on rural energy options. Heating is a major issue that impacts everyone in Mongolia. As populations grow and development progresses heating has an increasing cost to the natural environment. Mongolia’s forests are being decimated by people trying to stay warm. Often the worst affected by this situation are schools.

 

Rising heating costs are the greatest expense for schools across Mongolia. The government has been trying to combat this issue by introducing a law protecting remaining forests by prohibiting the cutting of live trees. However, this requires dead wood to be collected which radically increases transportation costs. Schools face a dilemma: they must either break the law and exacerbate the effects of deforestation, or pay more each year for fuel - often out of their heating budgets. The only way schools can combat this is by becoming more energy efficient and finding alternative sources of fuel that do not jeopardize Mongolia’s forests.

 

Finding a solution for schools facing this heating dilemma brings hope that similar strategies can be adopted in other poor regions as well.

Establishing an Energy Efficient Solution

JUCCCE conducted a ten-day scoping study of school heating systems in Khuvsgul province. The published report at the conclusion of the study highlighted 4 areas for action with tangible plans to empower other actors to carry forward development - public education, professional training, entrepreneurial development, and government policy.

 

After consulting people from across the construction sector and meeting with government organizations in charge of financing school building rehabilitation, it became clear that the root of the problem is the Mongolian building code. A state-financed building must comply with state building codes before it can be approved. Thus, adequately enforced building codes dictate the minimum standard design of a building. Raising the standards for both new construction and building renovations can improve building energy efficiency and sustainability. As next steps the JUCCCE team laid out tangible plans for other actors create a building energy efficiency public education campaign and stimulate a building code revolution.

 

We combined our access to world-leaders in energy efficient construction with the on-ground knowledge we gained in Mongolia to provide an actionable plan to address the heating problem.

90%

OF HEATING IS WOOD-FUELED IN KHUVSGUL PROVINCE

100+

SCHOOLS USE WOOD FOR HEATING

55000

TONS OF WOOD BURNED FOR HEATING

To learn more about how we made a difference in Mongolia, read our Rural Heating report here.

Acknowledgements

Thank you to Jonathan Woetzel’s support, Oyungerel Tsedevdamba’s local leadership, Joel Slonetsky and Nora Sluzas for their dedication and sense of adventure, Van Yang’s videography, Hondo Design for design.

Greening China Together

一起绿化中国

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Vimeo Social Icon